Self Harm

I don’t know why I decided to write on this particular topic. I suppose I just felt like it and probably because I understand how it feels. And because I was a victim.

I am Maimoonah Hassan, and I was a victim of self-harm.

It all started in the Xth grade. Continuous exam and peer pressure, and my declining health were the primary reasons I started to hurt myself. Initially, it was little. A slight cut or maybe cursing myself was the way I felt better. The main problems started when I moved to India to pursue further education. My life was a total mess. Tons of family, social and health problems had started weighing me down, and my migraines just made everything worse. My grades fell and that was when I started seriously harming myself. There was something in slicing through my skin and watching my blood trickle down my hand that relieved my pain, if only momentarily. At that point of time, nothing felt bad. I didn’t feel any pain, just a sort of high. It was a feeling that can’t be explained.

I was angry, I was depressed. And there was nobody who made me feel better. I was an outcast. My family didn’t understand me and there were barely any friends who I trusted enough to let them in my life. I used to project my anger by punching through windows or using the blade on myself. That was when I felt in control of my life.

A year later, I moved out of the hostel I stayed in, and moved into our apartment, and that didn’t make me feel any better. I hid my scars by wearing full sleeved tees or kurtas, not that anybody noticed if my arms were exposed. I bottled all my emotions and every time my mother yelled at me for being incompetent, the blade was there. The blade I used to cut myself was the only thing that kept me from completely losing my mind and drowning into nothingness.

I cried myself to sleep every night, and put on a lot of courage and a brave face to go to school the next day. That year my sister had qualified her Pre-Medical Tests, enabling her to take admission in a medical college and start her professional career as a doctor. That was when things started getting tougher.

I was considered to be the β€œintelligent” person in the family and my fate was decided and handed over to me- I had to follow in the family’s footsteps and become a doctor. I just HAD to. And because of this dreaded expedition, I had to drop a year for preparing (Which is a common trend in India nowadays.)
I moved to Kota, and joined the prestigious Allen Institute, to fulfill my parent’s dream of becoming a doctor. My health further declined, and my migraines caused me to remain half paralysed in my room day and night. I couldn’t move. I couldn’t eat. I couldn’t sleep. And during Ramadan, I starved, as I lived among 99.9% non-Muslims. But thank the Lord I made amazing friends who took care of me and made sure I stayed alive. But it wasn’t happily ever after yet. The nagging continued, and so did the self-harm. The worst was when I failed to qualify my PMTs. That was the real trigger.

My parents admitted me into the Dental College of the same university my sister was in and of course, she got in and I was sold to the faculty, so that made a HUGE difference. I had self-esteem and confidence issues and I HATED the faculty of Medicine so much that I couldn’t bear waking up in the morning and going to college. And what was worse? The mutilation never went away. I used to cut myself and bleed onto the floor and my sister, who used to be in the next room, never noticed it.

My parents did, though. And they β€œwarned” me to not cut again. Yeah, right. I don’t have a magic on/off button. But whatever. I mean, what did they know? All they cared about were good grades and a degree. Never did they ask why I did it, nor did they bother to find out. I pretended to agree and that was the end of it.

More boy trouble and overwhelming college gossip later, I realized that what I did to myself, stayed with myself. And that projecting the anger I developed because of others onto myself made no real sense. WHY should I hurt myself because of what others did to me? Or how they made me feel? It’s not like they’ll ever regret their choices to even stop for a moment to consider. Nobody cared. And I hurt myself, over and over again. That was when I decided to stop. I looked at all the scars that were born over the years and thought how pointless each and every scar was. I knew I needed help but didn’t bother to get any. I conjured up all of my strength to stop cutting myself because it was wrong. It was wrong in so many ways.

I was always a bright kid in school, but was always bullied. I tried to be popular in so many ways, including lying, but nothing ever helped. Eventually, I gave up seeking attention and because of pressure, lost my focus. I won’t say I’ve gained it all back and am supremely popular in college.
I don’t even have my stability back. But I’m getting there, one step at a time.

I wrote this for the people who are like me, who share my story. Because I know how you feel. And because I can tell you that harming yourself will do you no good. Because the people who don’t care now, never will. So I urge you, please, stop hurting yourself. I’m not asking you to go seek psychiatric help because you are not diseased. You are merely broken, and you alone can fix yourself. You’re beautiful and you’re strong. So pick up those pieces and start over. Because if I can try to make it, anyone can.

23 thoughts on “Self Harm

  1. Safu says:

    Hey bbz..i can understand wht all u had been goin through n being ur frnd im srry i cdlnt stand up for u.. Just a humble request stop lettin others rule over u … U r what u r and trust me u r great.. Dont give give a bullshit to anyone if they think or say sumthin bad abt u perhapz they r just jealous.. All i knw is however far u n me are i vill always cherish our frndship n no matter wht n when we meet we will be the same… Whn ever u want to share ur heart im always der just tell me n inshllh i’ll try my best to give u the comfort level u need… N plzz u more precious to ur parents n luvd ones so stop hurtin urself .. Luv u hamesha .. Safoora

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Aiyesha says:

    You are a strong person Mona . It takes a lot to stop oneself from self – harming . I’ve been there.. life may be very challenging .. but its up to us as to how we handle it ..

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hiba says:

    I and my best friend had been victim to this…
    I honestly don’t know what to say to to you except that it was nice of you to have shared this experience with a bunch of strangers in order to help them through their mess of a life.
    I think I was very lucky to have met my friend at the time I did. The two of us were already victim to this but we helped each other get over it.
    We kept encouraging each other and telling each other of how special we were to each other were until we cried our hearts out and and tried finally stopped.
    I stopped for her and she stopped for me.
    I can never thank the lord enough for her.
    Now we very dramatically look back at it and say “you showed me THE light, my FRIEND!”
    I really hope life gets better for anyone who battles with their own self this way. It’s the worst thing we could do to ourselves. It exploits us further more.
    May Allah always bless you Maymoona. x
    Take care πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  4. izza ifzaal says:

    Thankyou for sharing ND I should rather sy I am really proud of you as you harbored the guts stop because of your own choice. I have seen girls in my hostel doing but none could stop somehow. And here you are like a epitome of strength for everyone who lacks faith in themselves. .May Allah blesses you for everything β˜Ίβ˜ΊπŸ’œπŸ’œ

    Liked by 1 person

  5. You are a brave girl and I am happy that you overcome it . May Allah bless you more for creating this awareness. lots of love!
    Parents do pressurize kids a lot in India because there is so much competition,they are worried for our future, over stressed so much that they forget what it might cause to the child if he/she is over sensitive.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jazak’Allah for your kind words. πŸ™‚

      Yes, the problem of pressure is severe. Parents need to be a little more cautious when it comes to situations like this.

      Thankyou so much for sparing the time to read this. I really appreciate it. πŸ™‚ x

      Liked by 1 person

      • I loved reading it and I can relate to it very well.Seen so many examples of kids going through it . my brother also faced such pressure at home and am happy to follow your Blog. Looking forward to read more πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment